YORKSHIRE SENIOR & U23 FELL RUNNING CHAMPIONSHIPS

WORDS DAVID & EILEEN WOODHEAD, YORKSHIRE CHAMPIONSHIP CO-ORDINATORS

he 45th Yorkshire edition of the Championships took place incorporated within the Ilkley Moor fell race, the third time Ilkley Harriers have hosted the event.

Congratulations to the 2023 medal winners.

A BRIEF HISTORY

The inaugural Yorkshire Championship took place in the Lake District, in 1978, within the Skiddaw fell race. This was also the Northern Counties Athletics Association Championships, Ian Roberts of Holmfirth Harriers won the gold medal, Alan Spence of Bingley Harriers the silver and John Fretwell of Holmfirth Harriers the bronze.

The Yorkshire Championship remained in the Lake District, as part of the NCAA Championships, until 1989 when they were moved to the Holme Moss fell race. At the race, Gary Devine of Pudsey & Bramley AC took gold, Andy Styan the silver and Andy Hauser the bronze – both the latter running for Holmfirth Harriers. The Men's Team awards were introduced at Holme Moss with Holmfirth Harriers taking home the gold medals – Roger Bradley being their third counter.

Kirsty Lowther, now Hall, of Keighley Hill Runners won the inaugural women's gold medal in 1994 at the Kettlewell fell race, Pat Collier the silver and Helen Slater the bronze both of Todmorden Harriers.

The Women's Team awards were introduced in 2002 at The White Wells fell race on Ilkley Moor, with Ilkley Harriers taking the gold medals. The team consisted of Emma Barclay, Alison Weston and Joanne Kerr.

The U23 Championships were introduced in 1996, at the Pen Y Ghent fell race, where Stuart Cameron won the Men's race. Unfortunately, there were no competitors in the Women's race that year, but Victoria Wilkinson of Bingley Harriers took the gold medals in both the following two years (1997 and 1998). Victoria is the most accomplished female title holder in the history of the Yorkshire Championships; also winning six senior titles in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2018.

The most accomplished male title holder is lan Holmes of Bingley Harriers, who has eight titles in 1994, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008 and 2011.



ABOVE: Ben Rothery, winner of Ilkley Moor Fell race © Dave Woodhead, woodentops.co.uk

2023 45TH YORKSHIRE SENIOR & U23 FELL RUNNING CHAMPIONSHIPS

AT ILKLEY MOOR FELL RACE

Senior Women	Champion	Rose Mather	York Knavesmire Harriers
	Silver	Becky Penty	York Knavesmire Harriers
	Bronze	Emma Hopkinson	Wharfedale Harriers
Senior Women Team	Champions Gold	York Knavesmire Harriers Rose Mather, Becky Penty & Nik Tarrega	
Senior Men	Champion	Ben Rothery	IIkley Harriers
	Silver	Joe Baxter	Pudsey & Bramley
	Bronze	Jack Cummings	IIkley Harriers
Senior Men Team	Champions Gold	Ilkley Harriers Ben Rothery, Jack Cummings & Oli Murphy	

YORKSHIRE UNDER 23 FELL RUNNING CHAMPIONSHIPS

U23 Women	Champion	Betty Bergstrand	Middlesborough AC Mandale
	Silver	Poppy Cooke	Ackworth Road Runners
	Bronze	Lexi Whitaker	Harrogate Harriers
U23 Men	Champion	Alex Mason	Dark Peak Fell Runners
	Silver	Jack Walton	Keighley & Craven AC
	Bronze	Mitchell Boocock	Pudsey & Bramley

BELOW: A selection of finish line photos © Dave Woodhead, woodentops.co.uk

